Lonely coffee 

So I read an article that had a list of things to do to get yourself adjusted to being alone. One of them was, have a coffee date by yourself with a book or magazine. At this very moment I am sitting here in this Starbucks flipping through a Cosmopolitan and all I can focus on are all the couples and groups of friends around me. I can’t help but wonder what they are thinking about me, or if they even notice. I have always hated being alone so this was a big step for me. I am truly having mixed feelings about it. I am proud that I did it, but at the same time I am feeling sorry for myself that I don’t have anyone to enjoy it with. I don’t mean to whine or complain but I wonder if anyone else out there has had this feeling before. If you have feel free to comment about your experience I would love to hear it! 

19 thoughts on “Lonely coffee 

  1. It’s always a happy moments to have coffee with someone else especially if that someone is so much special. But if that someone makes your heart less happy, then it is best sometimes to be alone and have coffee by yourselves. Am i making sense here? Just the same be strong my dear!!

  2. I’ve done this once, sipping coffee in a café with a book(And then there Were None) all by myself. It was quite funny, since I escaped in the story and also cause I was alone. Solitary isn’t always a bad thing, You just need to be happy with your own thoughts :’)

  3. I also felt lonely after my breakup. My girlfriend, too wanted me to get back. But I was adamant. And am quite happy now.

    I don’t know how things were in your case. But all I can say is that things get better with time. You may call my statement a bromide, but it definitely works.

    And in order to move ahead, I would suggest reading books. It helps, but only if you like reading. All the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

